Big Hollow Retreat on Sinking Creek Reviews

Destiny

May 2020

They have literally everything you need there, all you really need to pack is clothes and food!

Robyn

April 2020

Great property!

Kenny

April 2020

Most beautiful place within miles to stay at with all the same amenities.

Christen

December 2019

Amazing location with absolutely gorgeous river views right IN the back yard. The house was immaculate and very homey. The host made sure we had detailed directions to the home and even called to be sure we arrived safely. 5 stars!!

Rosana

November 2019

WE enjoyed very much our stay. The place is beautiful.

Chris

November 2019

Fantastic stay! This is a lovely piece of land and so relaxing and restorative. We will definitely be returning for another trip if we can. It was just the getaway that we needed.

Stephanie

October 2019

Absolutely beautiful property, and a beautiful, comfy home! Owner is so nice & helpful, too!! They have everything there you could possibly need as far as day-to-day essentials, like kitchen utensils, cookware, & storage. Nice spacious kitchen for cooking meals in. Great covered deck off the kitchen for grilling & enjoying the weather and views & sounds of the babbling creek! Fire pit in yard was great, too! Comfortable beds, & house was very clean. This is a very isolated location set back in the woods next to Sinking Creek, so driveway to the house has a few steep hills. When we were there, it was still an all gravel/dirt drive, but they said they are putting in concrete on the steep hills that can get a bit rutted or eroded from the rain soon, so that will help the only issue with this property. You will probably have no service on your cell phones while staying here, but they do have WiFi, so you won’t be completely off the grid if that’s not your thing. They have a landline there in case you need to make a call, or receive one. There are so many beautiful parks & natural springs to see. I didn’t even see half of them, so a future trip is a must for me, and I will try to stay at Big Hollow Retreat the next time, too!

Audrey

September 2019

What a wonderful secluded place. It was so nice and so clean . The beds were super comfortable and the place had everything you could possibly need. I loved being able to walk down to the creek and play with the kids. We will definitely be back.

Kelci

August 2019

This space was fantastic! The property was so beautiful, we spent so much time on the deck just listening to the creek. The driveway is definitely a challenge. After going through it a couple of times we got used to it, but the first time was very intimidating. Other than that, great place within 20 minutes of many river outfitters and great family areas outside the house.

Mark

September 2019

Looking for peace and quiet? This is a little slice of heaven on earth. This place is for families young and old. Kids can safely enjoy the area while adults enjoy watching them... or go for a little swim or catch some fish for yourself.

April

August 2019

Amazing secluded retreat! Beautiful home with plenty of space for the entire family. So many extras provided by the host! We grilled and sat around the campfire every night. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back next year. The home is an easy 20-30 minute drive to the float trips on Current River. As other reviewers have mentioned the driveway is a bit scary but accessible for SUVs. We were unable to drive a hatchback car to the house.

Drew

August 2019

Expect to be comfortable and have an amazing experience. Awesome, awesome spot on Sinking Creek.

Brandon

August 2019

Beautiful private piece of property for a great relaxing trip

Katie

July 2019

This place was amazing! It had enough room for our large family, everything we needed to enjoy our stay was there for us, the fire pit and creek access made our outdoor time so enjoyable and our float trip (Pulltite) was just 15 minutes away. We can’t wait to get a chance to visit again!

Sarah

July 2019

I've stayed in lots of AirBnbs. A lot of times, the supplies and kitchen utensils are pretty meager and bare bones. This house has it all - baking dishes, a muffin pan, some basic pantry staples, plenty of silverware and dishes, camp chairs, lots of beach towels and bath towels. It was so easy to make ourselves at home and have everything we need. The only scary thing was the driveway! We didn't have four wheel drive, but we made it. Michael went the extra mile and helped us haul our heavy cooler down the driveway in his truck. If you are looking for a remote, well-furnished home with private river access, safe for kids, look no further - this is a great find!

Brandon

July 2019

Absolutely a wonderful Ozark getaway! Will definitely be back!

Kendall

July 2019

Big Hollow Retreat is a very nicely appointed and VERY clean vacation home nestled on a secluded property with picturesque views of the surrounding woods and crystal clear flowing waters of Sinking creek . Michael is a very attentive host that has seen to every detail to make your stay a memorable and relaxing experience . The home is surrounded by the Mark Twain National Forest and is also adjacent to the Ozark National Scenic Riverway featuring the cool spring fed Current river. My family and I look forward to returning next year !

Trisha

June 2019

This is a true Missouri rural stay. Beautiful creek with long eared sunfish and small mouth bass. This host provides everything you need. Close to many outdoor activities and state parks. Only 25 minutes from a Walmart.

Perfect get away

5/5 Stayed May 2020

Kenny D.

Great people to rent from. Been multiple times and will definitely be back!

Vanessa

June 2019

The house and property were amazing. It was a secluded and relaxing space. The house was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The views off the back deck of the creek were just beautiful and we had a wonderful time sitting out there and watching the wildlife. The driveway was a little daunting but the host gave us plenty of instructions before hand and we had no issues getting to and from the house. The house and property were located close to Echo Bluff State Park and Current River State Park as well as the Jack's Fork and Current Rivers so if you are looking to hike and float this is the perfect place. We would definitely stay again.

Mark

May 2019

Our stay at the house was perfect. It is beautiful, serene, and quiet. The house is clean and really nice. Fishing and swimming were a good way to spend a lot of time. You must have four-wheel-drive to guarantee getting back here. One of our vehicles learned the hard way and had to stay out near the highway. Looking forward to coming back soon!

Lovely place to stay!

5/5 Stayed Jan 2020

Courtney F.

It's a wonderful place to unplug and relax. We sat on the deck and listened to the creek. It was very relaxing! Super clean, comfortable beds and plenty of room for a larger family! It is a bit of a drive from town with winding roads but worth the drive.

Anniversary

5/5 Stayed Dec 2019

Robyn B.

Beautiful home and very clean.

Only downside is the road going to the house Definitely would stay here again

Perfection!

5/5 Stayed Oct 2019

Angela F.

We were looking for a location that felt secluded but close to activities and we found it with this property. The rental has EVERYTHING you need, is comfortable, and relaxing.

Owners are kind, professional and excel in their attention to details. We hope to come back.

Friends get away

5/5 Stayed Sep 2019

Patti P.Missouri

As the owner told us and we expected, the road was a bit rough. Everything else was great and all six of us agree we will come back on our next float in this area.

A little piece of heaven

5/5 Stayed Jul 2019

carmela b.

What a great little hideaway. Our family absolutely loved this place. The home was well stocked and very clean. We arrived a little early and were allowed to hangout by the creek till they were done cleaning. We were worried about getting up the driveway as it was a little steep and we had a van, but were able to navigate it. Its really great place to unwind.

Girls getaway!

5/5 Stayed Sep 2019

KELLY H.

My sisters and I celebrated birthdays and we couldn’t have picked a better place! We loved the feeling and hominis of it all. The location and beautiful piece of property along sinking Creek was relaxing and we did not want to leave! I could sit and listen to the water all day and night. The peace and tranquility was amazing. We found a new place to stay when we are not camping in the area! The owners are very thorough and you really only needed your clothes and food...they have thought of everything to make your stay welcoming! Highly recommend...

WONDERFUL all around!

5/5 Stayed Aug 2019

Marlo H.

We had the most fantastic experience here. The owner called and gave us directions and instructions, which were really helpful. There was a binder at the house with info and local activities.

The house is clean, warm and very inviting. The rooms are nicely decorated and the kitchen is well stocked with the necessary items, and a few extras. WiFi worked great and A/C kept us nice and cool.

The patio has a fence that stretches across the stairs opening, which is fantastic if you bring little ones. Fans on the patio make it nice and cool on hot nights.

Access to the creek is right down the yard. It can be tricky getting down and up but not impassable. The water was crystal clear and perfectly chilly on the hot days; bring an umbrella if you'll sit in the creek there's limited shade.

This was an all around fantastic experience for us. This property is well cared for and it shows. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Quiet, Secluded Getaway

5/5 Stayed Jul 2019

Andrew S.Oak Ridge, MO

Property was exactly as-described, communication with owner easy and effective, and the setting was perfect for my family’s desire for a remote, secluded location with ease of access to floating streams.

Great retreat

5/5 Stayed Jul 2019

Devin W.

What an amazing property! Beautiful views and quite. The home is wonderful and has everything you need. Only downfall is poor cell service however with teenagers it was great to see them enjoy the time out. Owners are great and very responsive to make sure your time is stress free! Enjoy your time here you won’t want to leave!! The pictures are accurate but in person it will take your breath away!

Great time to relax at Big Hollow

5/5 Stayed Jun 2019

Kendall D.

Big Hollow Retreat is a well kept property that offers a lot of privacy and opportunity to relax surrounded by nature. Our host was very friendly and made sure to make our stay the best it could be, and we hope that our next float trip brings us back to Big Hollow!

Fantastic, family loved Big Hollow.

5/5 Stayed Jun 2019

Thomas D.

My wife, 2 daughters and 5 grandkids want to return next summer. House was immaculate and everything worked. Setting is stunning, large covered deck, kids played in the creek, caught fish, roasted marshmallows, and neighborhood coon dog puppy visited, close to Current River, etc. It is remote and 4wd was helpful, but not necessary. If you come this summer there is firewood, but bring kindling. A great place to make lasting memories.

Great place to stay

5/5 Stayed Jun 2019

Michele K.

We had the most fun staying at this property. The creek is great and has an awesome place to swim and fish. We caught a ton of small mouth bass and perch. There were also deer (3) and otters. By the swimming hole is a cool bluff, just like Echo Bluff just a little smaller. The neighbor across the creek has a shepard type dog and coonhound, please be nice to them if they come around. The coonhound is named Oakley, he is just the sweetest.

The house is just what we needed, it has a great back porch. There is a TV and WiFi and washer/dryer. There is a fire pit out in the backyard by the creek.

We used the Running River Canoe Rental, found on 19, for our float trip. We floated Pulltite to Round Spring, this place was very helpful. We parked at Round Spring and they have a bus take us to the put in at Pulltite.

This is really a great place, I hope to get to rent it again in the future.

Will W.

November 3, 2019 · 

What an amazing, off-the-beaten-path getaway! The beauty of this property is in it’s seclusion and proximity to the sounds and sights of water flowing nearby. The home was warm, inviting, and very family-friendly. Highly recommend!

Quiet rooms · Romantic atmosphere · Spacious rooms · Family-friendly

Stephanie S.

November 4, 2019 · 

Such a nice, relaxing, and secluded place!! Absolutely loved the property & area, and the owners are so helpful & friendly. Definitely recommend. 👍 ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ !!!

Thoughtful amenities · Family-friendly · Spacious rooms

Abbey D.

August 22, 2019 · 

We had the BEST time at Big Hollow Retreat on Sinking Creek! A group of four of us had the opportunity to stay here for a weekend in August and it was the most perfect, unplugged getaway I could have imagined. Off the beaten path, this oasis on a babbling creek is the perfect place to relax and unwind.

The House:
The house itself is IMMACULATE. It's updated and spacious and has every amenity imaginable, including TWO fridges and TWO coffee makers. :) You can spend an entire day floating the river or exploring the outdoors in and around Salem to come back to a place with air conditioning (or heat), a big soaking tub with hot water to spare and a flat-screen TV! We were super impressed with how little we really needed to bring because the house was stocked with extra towels, basic cooking spices/oils, coffee, utensils, bug spray, lighters and SO, so much more. We truly felt right at home!

The Property:
Honestly, you could come to Big Hollow Retreat and never leave and still have a ball. We swam in the creek, explored the property and cooked out under the stars every night. They have a fire pit and a grill - both of which cooked our hot dogs and brats to perfection. We even made s'mores over the open fire! There is also plenty of wildlife on the property like deer and we saw so many gorgeous butterflies on the native plants. I will say - bug spray is a necessity if you're going in the summer! There were several times I was chased by a horsefly or two.... they are out for blood!! 😂

Also, another tip - if you are going to be out at night, try to keep the porch lights off in the back. They attract a LOT of moths that like to congregate on the sliding glass doors, which makes it difficult to get in and out of the house without letting a moth family into the living room!

Last thing.. when they warn you about the driveway, they MEAN it! It's a gravel road with lots of hills that can be difficult (but not impossible) to maneuver. We had a smaller 4-door car and it took us 3 attempts to get to the house because the car kept getting stuck. I have a feeling that if you were driving something will 4-wheel drive, you'd have an easier time.

The Hosts:
Meaghan Mertens and Mike were a pleasure to communicate with! They take a very personal approach to ensuring that you have the perfect stay. Because you won't get cell service, they make sure you have detailed directions on how to get to the property from wherever you're coming from. The directions were easy to follow and were accurate. Meaghan and Mike also were great resources when we were planning our trip. They gave us tips on what to do and where to go. Without them, I would have been lost on what do to!

Thanks for letting us stay! We can't wait to plan our next trip!

Family-friendly

Jody Minder

What an amazing, secluded getaway! My kids had so much fun tubing, fishing, and swimming in the creek. The covered deck was perfect for relaxing, and enjoying meals outside. They have a gas grill, but they also have a grill tray over the campfire which is where we cooked out, and of course made smores too. They also provided marshmallow roasting sticks and chairs to put around the campfire or by the creek. We've stayed at several Airbnbs/ (Hidden by Airbnb) s, and the owners of this property have gone above and beyond with providing so many extras. We didn't have any issues with the driveway, and actually our kids loved it, but the owners will be building another one soon. And lastly, the communication with the owners was great. Before our trip, they offered so many suggestions on things to see and do around the area. And after our trip, they followed up to see if we had any suggestions on making their Airbnb even better. My family and I all had a fantastic time and would like to come back again someday. I highly recommend Big Hollow Retreat on Sinking Creek!

WHAT PEOPLE SAY

NAME, TITLE

Share the amazing things customers are saying about your business. Double click, or click Edit Text to make it yours.

NAME, TITLE

Share the amazing things customers are saying about your business. Double click, or click Edit Text to make it yours.